Russia launches Cosmos-series military satellite

RIA Novosti

Russia’s Space Forces launched on Monday a Soyuz-U carrier rocket with a Cosmos class military satellite on board, spokesman Lt. Col. Alexey Zolotukhin said.

The rocket lifted off from the Plesetsk space center in north Russia at 08.00 pm Moscow time (16.00 GMT).

“The rocket put the Cosmos-series military satellite into the designated orbit at 08.08 pm Moscow time [16.08 GMT],” Zolotukhin said, adding that the satellite was assigned the serial number Cosmos 2472.

The satellite is a new addition to a Russian network of about 60-70 military reconnaissance satellites, featuring updated imaging technology and an extended lifetime of up to seven years.

The Soyuz-U rocket is designed to orbit Soyuz and Progress manned and cargo spacecraft, as well as special-purpose satellites such as Cosmos, Resurs-F, Foton and Bion.

The rocket has payload of up to 6,950 kilograms. This was the first launch of a Soyuz-U rocket this year.

Share this: Twitter | StumbleUpon | Facebook | Delicious | digg | reddit | buzz

Short URL: http://iafnews.nuvodev.com/?p=1408

Posted by pilotpaul on Jun 28 2011. Filed under All News, World. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google
Log in
Image source is from the Wikimedia Commons.Commons is a freely licensed media file repository.
Website Design Bangalore | Bangalore Web Design | Website Design India | Domain Registration Bangalore | Web Hosting India | Bangalore Web Hosting